Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Mirage's editing forms are a mess, and very hard to work with efficiently.
I'm not using Mirage, but I tried to make my editor as user-friendly as possible, with a lot of programming going in to make sure it's as solid as it can be, as well as programming in some basic ease-of-use functions.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
An offline editor? Either way, that looks awesome. Pretty good idea to include everything in at once.
cool! this would be so much easier than the MS editors, by a freaking...large distance. lol
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Matt Wrote:An offline editor? Either way, that looks awesome. Pretty good idea to include everything in at once.
Yeah. I'll be releasing new features in patch files, so I don't need the fast-download that Mirage has on it's data.
Also, the way I'm going to be handling the server-client relationship will allow me to store all the data in the client, and then just use the server for double-checking, sending the data to everyone else, and leading the client in some of the features, but apart from that a lot of stuff is going to be client side.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Robin Wrote:Matt Wrote:An offline editor? Either way, that looks awesome. Pretty good idea to include everything in at once.
Yeah. I'll be releasing new features in patch files, so I don't need the fast-download that Mirage has on it's data.
Also, the way I'm going to be handling the server-client relationship will allow me to store all the data in the client, and then just use the server for double-checking, sending the data to everyone else, and leading the client in some of the features, but apart from that a lot of stuff is going to be client side.
Kal Online handles it exactly like that. Easiest game to hack in the world. Lol.
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Done some more work on it.
Can now change the size of the array, what we call MAX_CLASSES in Mirage ;D
Started work on the sprites. Using the 'add' button, you can add new sprites to the array. There's 2 arrays, male and female. These can store any number of sprites, so each class can give the user a selection of sprites on character creation, depending on chosen sex. This is stored in the binary as a string. It'd appear something like this;
After loading the string, I then split it into an array of strings, then loop through to the UBound of the array and convert to long, storing it in the class rec.
Matt Wrote:Robin Wrote:Matt Wrote:An offline editor? Either way, that looks awesome. Pretty good idea to include everything in at once.
Yeah. I'll be releasing new features in patch files, so I don't need the fast-download that Mirage has on it's data.
Also, the way I'm going to be handling the server-client relationship will allow me to store all the data in the client, and then just use the server for double-checking, sending the data to everyone else, and leading the client in some of the features, but apart from that a lot of stuff is going to be client side.
Kal Online handles it exactly like that. Easiest game to hack in the world. Lol.
It doesn't handle it like that ;D Kal's silly enough to handle everything client-side without having the server double-check. What I mean when I say everything is done client-side, I mean similar to how CanMove is handled in Mirage. The client handles it all on it's own, but sends a double-check packet to the server. If you hack the client to move over blocked tiles, the server will know and boot appropriatly. Most of my features will be similar to that.
It's only for aesthetic reasons that I do it. If I handle everything client-side and have the server only stepping in to send information or correct the client if it's wrong, it means that the game will appear a lot smoother, especially at higher latencies.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Know what this reminds me of? RPG Maker XP's editor.. Lol.
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Matt Wrote:Know what this reminds me of? RPG Maker XP's editor.. Lol.
I'm modelling it off of RM2K's editor, mostly. Their editor is very user friendly.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Robin Wrote:Matt Wrote:Know what this reminds me of? RPG Maker XP's editor.. Lol.
I'm modelling it off of RM2K's editor, mostly. Their editor is very user friendly.
Explains it then.
Robin, get off of my internet and into my pants. This thing is awesome.
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
I have items working now. After getting the basic system structure down with classes, the rest of the data types will be a breeze.
Probably the hardest thing to do with items is the GUI, as it'll have to change whenever the classification is set. At the moment, I've set up the GUI structure for 'Common' and 'Medicine' for testing, and I'll work on the rest soon.
Also, you can now set each classes' starting equipment, as we have items to have set  Although, it lists ALL items. I'll set it up to only list items that are compatable with the equipment slot in question, as well as the class being edited later.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Posts: 262
Threads: 11
Joined: Apr 2023
Reputation:
0
Its looking pretty darn amazing
I did something like this a while game
O.G.E.
Offline Game Editor
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Worked on a quick DDraw/D3D hybrid engine.
Made an automated texture loaded system and rendering system. Working on a panorama system, but DDraw hates me trying to render off-screen so I need to make a work-around for that.
Here's a quick look at a masked layer rendered over a static panorama.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
looks really cool.
Is this vb6? I thought you quit that  .
Yeah Robin quit making cool shit and learn a real language
/backhand
stop be so fucking awsome, seriously
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Fox Wrote:Yeah Robin quit making cool shit and learn a real language
/backhand
I'm working on learning Java at the moment
I managed to make a simple graphics engine in Java2D, and a Client/Server system, with the server throwing a new thread everytime a client connected.
Until I can work with it as good as I can in VB6, though, there's not much I can do. Besides, I'll be using the database editor in VB6 no matter what language I use. Also, I'll be able to use any features I make in VB6, and just port the formulae across.
Can't beat VB6 when it comes to RAD.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
|