Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
MSE Build 2 - Description
MSE2 has several new bug fixes compared to the old versions (MS 3.0.3, 3.0.7 and MSE1 as well). This new source offers a more user friendly interface and some speed changes as well as some minor additions. So if you are new and want a Good source, your right pick is MSE2, both in performance and speed.
Original MSE2: Download MSE2
so what makes this perform faster ? it actually seems slower than the first.
the direct x is the same, the layers havent changed, packets are the same, could ya tell us the difference between this and the 1st version ?
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
There are only basic optimizations done, I didn't bother adding all cause they are in the tutorial board. And they are easy to follow.
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=922
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
Download fixed, added some dll and ocx files and a registerfile.bat to register them.
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
You need to fix it so if you click on the game screen focus is set to the chat textbox.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
Fast fix in frmMirage:
Code: Private Sub picScreen_GotFocus()
On Error Resume Next
txtMyChat.SetFocus
End Sub
I will add it later on, but just now. Bhenur fixed a bug in k2h which allows me to work on it again  I changed the frmMirage scalemode from Pixel to Twip cause it makes the moving of frmMirage better. But it also messed up a lot of other things with the gfx. And he found the problem  I would never have thought of reverting that back.
uFail by using the on error resume next shit. That's not fixing code, or optimizing it. That's just lazy.
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
Perfekt Wrote:uFail by using the on error resume next [edit]. That's not fixing code, or optimizing it. That's just lazy. That was taken from k2h, and that on error resume next is there cause the controls doesn't always have time to load on slow computers, and then trying to set the focus to a unloaded object can cause a error.
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Perfekt Wrote:uFail by using the on error resume next [edit]. That's not fixing code, or optimizing it. That's just lazy.
Don't go just regurgitating other people's views on things.
On error resume next can be useful in some code. The way Mirage uses it as a 'I have no idea what's going wrong so I'll just ignore it lol' thingy is poor, but when it comes to Microsoft's... temperamental... controls it can be used to stop hard-to-spot hardware-specific errors.
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
Too bad it can't stop VB from closing down due to fmod.
Robin Wrote:Perfekt Wrote:uFail by using the on error resume next [edit]. That's not fixing code, or optimizing it. That's just lazy.
Don't go just regurgitating other people's views on things.
On error resume next can be useful in some code. The way Mirage uses it as a 'I have no idea what's going wrong so I'll just ignore it lol' thingy is poor, but when it comes to Microsoft's... temperamental... controls it can be used to stop hard-to-spot hardware-specific errors.
Who says what I was talking about has anything to do with what other people have said?
I personally removed those lines that were in any and all ms games and wait for the errors and fix them.
Guess that's just me though.
/shrugs
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
There are no On Error Resume Next in MSE2. So don't worry Perfekt. I just use that line in k2h cause it helps people, there are no fix for not loaded controls.
William Wrote:There are no On Error Resume Next in MSE2. So don't worry Perfekt. I just use that line in k2h cause it helps people, there are no fix for not loaded controls.
Oh, I'm not worried. I was just saying. I'll prolly not bother downloading MSE2, cause well.. I really don't program anymore. I'm focusing on other projects and such. ^_^
Posts: 2,742
Threads: 115
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation:
0
Perfekt Wrote:William Wrote:There are no On Error Resume Next in MSE2. So don't worry Perfekt. I just use that line in k2h cause it helps people, there are no fix for not loaded controls.
Oh, I'm not worried. I was just saying. I'll prolly not bother downloading MSE2, cause well.. I really don't program anymore. I'm focusing on other projects and such. ^_^
Gone back to the human cloning again?
Quote:Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?
Yupp. Lol.
I'm workin' on clonin' Hitler and Napoleon right now.
Nah, I'm focusin' on my music.
Posts: 2,605
Threads: 412
Joined: Nov 2021
Reputation:
0
Fix for those who already downloaded MSE2 and using it:
Client Side, replace this if: Code: If (LCase$(Parse(0)) = "updateitem") Then
With:
Code: If (LCase$(Parse(0)) = "updateitem") Then
n = Val(Parse(1))
' Update the item
Item(n).Name = Parse(2)
Item(n).Pic = Val(Parse(3))
Item(n).Type = Val(Parse(4))
Item(n).Data1 = Val(Parse(5))
Item(n).Data2 = Val(Parse(6))
Item(n).Data3 = Val(Parse(7))
Exit Sub
End If
Server Side, replace:
Code: Sub SendUpdateItemTo(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal ItemNum As Long)
Dim Packet As String
Packet = "UPDATEITEM" & SEP_CHAR & ItemNum & SEP_CHAR & Trim$(Item(ItemNum).Name) & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Pic & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Type & SEP_CHAR & END_CHAR
Call SendDataTo(Index, Packet)
End Sub
With:
Code: Sub SendUpdateItemTo(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal ItemNum As Long)
Dim Packet As String
Packet = "UPDATEITEM" & SEP_CHAR & ItemNum & SEP_CHAR & Trim$(Item(ItemNum).Name) & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Pic & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Type & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Data1 & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Data2 & SEP_CHAR & Item(ItemNum).Data3 & SEP_CHAR & END_CHAR
Call SendDataTo(Index, Packet)
End Sub
The download is not yet updated with this fix.
DFA Wrote:On Error Resume Next is the only solution for that specific problem
If "On Error Resume Next" burns your eyes, try...
Code: Public Sub Name()
On Error Goto ErrorHandle1
Exit Sub
ErrorHandle1:
End Sub
And a good thing to put in the ErrHandle1 label section is something like:
Code: If Err.Number > 0 Then
AddLog "Error: " & Err.Number & "; While running Sub Name(" & Variable1 & ", " & Variable2 & ") at " & whatever function for time & ".", "errorlist.txt"
End If
That's still not good error handling...what would be even better is to do error trapping like vbGORE does with On Error GoTo 0 or however it does it...and also to display the sub name with the variables that are in it.
Where are the dll's and the oxc's at??
A dll and ocx download site? Google the ones you need.
|