Mirage Engine
Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - Printable Version

+- Mirage Engine (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums)
+-- Forum: Mirage Source (Nostalgia) (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=61)
+--- Forum: Archive (2006-2011) (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=18)
+---- Forum: General (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+---- Thread: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? (/showthread.php?tid=1132)



Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - JohnY - 25-07-2007

I was working on my inventory and when I try to login to my game
I get Runtime 6, Overflow, it highlights this:

[Image: overflowxv2.png]

Does anyone know what causes overflow?
I tried to figure out the answer, but couldn't find anything usefull.

EDIT: I tried making a new character and login.
Now I get runtime 9 - Subscript out of range.


Re: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - Robin - 25-07-2007

I'm guessing you're trying to set it as a number too high.

Hover your mouse over "invslot" and screenshot it, and also take a screenshot with your mouse hovering over "itemnum"


Re: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - William - 25-07-2007

JUst add a small checK:

Code:
If  invslot < 0 or invslot > MAX_INV then exit sub
if itemnum < 0 or itemnum > MAX_ITEMS then exit sub
This will solve the error but if you get problems you should dig more into were it starts etc.


Re: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - Robin - 25-07-2007

If I were you, I'd only use checks like that during release, otherwise there wont be a nice yellow bar telling you where your source is fucked until you learn to follow packets and code trails.


Re: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - JohnY - 29-07-2007

Lol, u guys kinda helped me understand a new part of VB6.

Although I'm pretty new to VB6, I have lots of experience in coding in Java, wich isn't lots of different from VB6.
Although I didn't realise that this Overflow error had to do anything with my inventory slots increasing my max slots, I made 32 of these while my max was set to 24.

Thank you both for helping me out.


Re: Runtime 6 - Overflow ? - Robin - 29-07-2007

Now problem, but tbh most languages are alike in the way they are executed.

Once you know one, it's usually easier to learn another.

Glad to have helped ;D