![]() |
Password Rich text - Printable Version +- Mirage Engine (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums) +-- Forum: Mirage Source (Nostalgia) (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=61) +--- Forum: Archive (2006-2011) (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=18) +---- Forum: General (https://mirage-engine.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=17) +---- Thread: Password Rich text (/showthread.php?tid=1118) Pages:
1
2
|
Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 Greetings. I can't find the option to make a rich text box hide the password (using William's transparent Rich Text box tutorial. Thanks). Am I blind or it doesn't exist? Should I get a font with * to hide the password? FirZen Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 If it doesn't have a passwordcharacter field, just print it to screen or use a label, and make a quick sub to replace all the character with *'s. That's what I do on NR. Re: Password Rich text - William - 21-07-2007 Why do you want to use a RTB? To make it transparent? If so, thats the only reason. And you will have to program the password chars, store what you type in a variable and show the * from the Len() of the text etc.. Re: Password Rich text - Matt - 21-07-2007 I think MS uses RTB by default so you can change the colors. I've never checked or even tried to change the colors of a normal text box, so I'm not sure. I really need to install VB on here again.. /sigh Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 The fact is, the rich text box is invisible, the GUI itself has the borders. This is more of a looks question. In text I understand what you mean. In code, no idea. I'll look into it. Store whats typed in a VAR. Instead of sending the actual value of the textbox, when pressing OK/Login, send the variable? And replace every character in the text box for wildcards? The Call MenuState(MENU_STATE_LOGIN) refers to a sub in the Server's project, right? I'll have to look in the server and edit stuff there? Lets see if I get the var/change part: My way of showign code: On txtPassword change: varINPUT = txtPassword.Caption Right? But if I change the letters to * while doing this, won't the variable save *? FirZen Re: Password Rich text - Dragoons Master - 21-07-2007 Use OnKeyPress method, but make sure you handle with backspace and delete. Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 That would record the last key pressed, not the caption... How does that work? Enter and Backspace are handled differently? I do not have the MSDN, so I don't know how to work with OnKeyPress. Can you hint me out? FirZen Re: Password Rich text - Dragoons Master - 21-07-2007 OnKeyPress gives you the ascii character of the letter, just add that to the variable and change the caption to len(variable) times * Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 I see. Can Len() be used as a var or do I need to store it as a var first? No problems with Backspace or do I need extra attention on that one? As you can see, never coded in VB. FirZen Re: Password Rich text - Dragoons Master - 21-07-2007 Len() is a function, like in any other language, it return the value, so yes, it can be used as a variable, no need to store. And for the back space, you'll need to make an If statement and remove the last letter. Use Mid and Len functions together, if you don't know this function, google it ^^ Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 Its a Rich Text box. FirZen Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 He wants a transparent textbox so the GUI shows through. I don't know what wrong with just printing the text or using a label and replacing the string with the same amount of *'s. Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 you mean, showing the actual password? Dunno... Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 Robin Wrote:replacing the string with the same amount of *'s. No. I mean creating your own password character replacer :roll: Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 Won't that mess with the info sending? No sig for 3 posts. You're lucky. Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 -sigh- You're going to store the password somewhere else, and then fill the textbox with *'s. Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 yes I had that idea... Still working on it Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 William Wrote:Why do you want to use a RTB? To make it transparent? If so, thats the only reason. Actually, William had that idea when you were still fumbling around with controls. Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 its not the first time I code. Just the first time I do it in VB. Already did some stuff with Pascal, GML (that's not even a coding language, is it?), C-Script... C++ I think. But that was waaaaay too back. So, I had that idea in my mind, just din't know how to put it into code. I was hoping someone came up with the same idea, but with better coding skills. Eh, screw this. Nobody can play my game surrounded by people. Period. Re: Password Rich text - Matt - 21-07-2007 Um, if you use the RTB control, in the properties, isn't there a "Password Character" part where you set what key will show instead of what you type? O_o Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 SP6? Re: Password Rich text - Matt - 21-07-2007 SP6? Huh..? Re: Password Rich text - FirZen - 21-07-2007 Visual Basic Service Pack 6 Maybe the RTB has a password field in SP6. Re: Password Rich text - Robin - 21-07-2007 Matt, that's only a normal Textbox. Re: Password Rich text - Matt - 21-07-2007 Oh. I don't have VB installed, or I'd have just checked myself. Doesn't Rez have this in his Zombie game? |